Bait And Switch

I’ve been reading on Craigslist here in Pinellas County that US Direct, another company that hawks magazines here in Pinellas County, is looking for employees.

I worked for US Direct in 2007, and lasted one day.  But I had cause.

What US Direct didn’t tell me was not only did they have the magazine program there, but another program on top of it.  Some kind of “Life Alert” kind of spiel.  So one summer day six years ago, I go in and get hired on a Wednesday, thinking I was going to sell magazines, applying to an ad in the then-St. Petersburg Times for their magazine program.

Turns out that when into training on Monday, I wasn’t going to sell magazines, but this “Life Alert” crap, or whatever it was.  I sat through the first part of their training, and when the first break came, I got the hell out of there.  If they were going to pull this bait and switch routine with employees, it didn’t bode well for what they did to their customers, I supposed.

They had another draconian rule there.  If you took an unscheduled day off, the only way you could not have your hourly pay rate reduced is if you had a doctor’s note.  If you had no note, the only way you made more dough is if you sold enough to make commission.

A bunch of heartless people over there, currently at 4950 Park Boulevard in Pinellas Park.  I may “infiltrate” them soon.  Would make a good story, wouldn’t it?

Bait And Switch

Leave a Reply

