Break Out The Oreos, Baby

Well, the good news is I have employment.  The bad news is it’s less hours and poorer conditions than I wanted.

I went to the unmarked office on Park Boulevard and met a gregarious young man named Nathan.  The office sells ADT Security systems, but whether or not it is ADT itself or some kind of shell company that’s earned the right to sell this systems, I don’t know.  It’s not like they tell you these things.

Two points I balked at: one was that this is a commission only job.  As I pointed out on September 29th, these jobs I usually tend to avoid, and I made my objections known.  Nathan pointed out that you can go to Walgreens, Subway, or any other place and make an hourly wage.  I don’t think he got the point I was trying to make, and that is more my fault than his.  I meant that why doesn’t this company offer an hourly wage as a safety net.  He turned that point into a straw man argument, I think, making it an overall debate about hourly wage in general.

Then there’s the whole matter of working four hour shifts.  They were advertising eight hour full-time shifts, but I didn’t get that choice.  I chose between 10am to 2pm or 5pm to 9pm, so I took the earlier.

It felt more like a recruitment than a job hiring, and I had the feeling Nathan was attempting to hustle me.  All I do is ask prospective callers a few questions, and if they seem interested, I hand them off to someone who tries to sell them their product.  With every successful sell, I get $100.00.  I don’t even know if I get taxes taken off of that.

So it all seems like a crap shoot to me, but there aren’t that many good jobs out there right now.  When I brought up the point that four hours isn’t a lot of time to make money, Nathan told me that “we take care of good people.”  So for now, I’ll stick with it, telling you the reader all about it along the way.

Break Out The Oreos, Baby

Leave a Reply

