My Mission And Ground Rules

On Monday, I start looking for some telemarketing work.  Not the work I really want to be doing, but at 41, I have to pay my bills, and I have to look for some greener pastures in my life.  I am not a child anymore, haven’t been for a long time, and it is time I face up to that.

So let me explain what it is I’m looking for specifically.  They are my ground rules, and depending on your respective situations, they might be good rules of the road for you, too.  Basically, it comes down to a few things.

Point One: at minimum, the job must pay an hourly wage in order for me to take it.  This currently varies from job to job here in Pinellas County.  Most jobs are hourly or commission, whichever is the greater amount.  The bad part about these jobs is you have to earn the same money twice, but at least you are guaranteed something.  Now, an hourly plus commission job is a much better prospect, and those jobs are fewer and far between.  Any commission only job should be avoided, because you stand the risk of losing money to work.  Work should not be a gamble.

Point Two: the job should allow me a day to notify friends and family to inform them of my plans before I begin.  For example, if I take the job on Monday, I shouldn’t have to start it until Tuesday.  A small point, yes.  But you would be surprised how many companies do not offer you that courtesy.  A few years ago, I applied at a place off of US 19 in Clearwater who put me on the phones right away without bothering to tell me that this was their intention.  Wound up staying there all of 20-30 minutes.  If an employer doesn’t treat me fairly right away, then they’re not going to treat me any fairer as time moves along.  Get out and get someone who will.

Point Three: the job should give me at least three days off out of every fourteen.  If an employer wants to work you six days a week, they will burn you out.  If they’re willing to burn you out, then they do not care about you.  You are just another easily expendable piece of meat to them.  Now, because of my situation at the present time, I may waive this rule, depending on the situation I encounter.

Point Four: if the checks bounce, that’s an immediate resignation.  If I can’t cash my check, I can’t make money.  That’s a no brainer.  If I believe I’m shorted (not being paid what I made), I will stay at the employer until it happens on three different occasions.

Point Five: I try to avoid places with strict dress codes, because it’s a brainwashing/cooperation game that’s unnecessary.  The one place that wanted to talk to me “about my future,” Dial America, has a strict dress code, to the point where you can’t have piercings.  Tattoos must be covered up.  I have neither piercings and tattoos, but when you’re calling people up on the phone all day, who is going to see you?

So I’ll see what happens on Monday.  I think I’ll be able to get something rather quickly.  It just boils down to one question: at what price?

My Mission And Ground Rules

One thought on “My Mission And Ground Rules

Leave a Reply

